Eurasian Economic Union technical regulation aligns with EU RoHS

_ Linas Jegelevicius. 7 Mach 2018.

The Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) has aligned its Regulation on the restriction of the use of hazardous substances in electrical and electronic equipment with the EU RoHS legislation.

The law, which is applicable to the EAEU member states of Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Russia, came into force on 1 March.

RoHS restricted substances, and their maximum concentration values tolerated by weight in homogeneous materials, are:

  • lead (0.1%);
  • mercury (0.1%);
  • cadmium (0.01%);
  • hexavalent chromium (0.1%);
  • polybrominated biphenyls (PBBs) (0.1%); and
  • polybrominated diphenyl ethers (PBDEs) (0.1%).

The legislation applies to products including: domestic appliances, IT equipment, telecommunications equipment, lighting equipment, electrical tools, leisure and sports equipment and vending machines.

It excludes some items, such as: electric toys, solar panel and photovoltaic installations, products designed for use in land-based and orbiting space objects, medical devices and electric batteries.

The Regulation also outlines conditions for compliance, labelling and operation in the Customs Union market. EAEU member states will have until 1 March 2020 to comply.

Until now, the use of hazardous chemicals “varied from one member state to another” and the health of the end consumer “was often put in danger”, Arman Shakalijev, director of the Eurasian Commission’s department of technical regulating and accreditation, the governing body of the EAEU, said.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *