Economic cooperation between Mongolia and the EAEU should develop

_ EEC. Moscow, 30 November 2017.

Opportunities for expanding trade and economic cooperation between the EAEU Member States and Mongolia were discussed by the Chairman of the EEC Board Tigran Sargsyan and the Vice Prime Minister of the Government of Mongolia Ulziisaikhan Enkhtuvshin during a working meeting held on November 29. The meeting was attended by the Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary Ambassador of Mongolia to the Russian Federation Banzragch Delgermaa, State Secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Mongolia Davaasuren Damdinsuren, heads of the several departments of the Government of Mongolia and the Eurasian Economic Commission.

“Mongolia is a traditional partner for many countries of the Eurasian Economic Union, and we are ready to give our trade relations a new breath,” said Tigran Sargsyan. First and foremost, in the opinion of the Chairman of the Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC), it is necessary to develop interaction in the sphere of customs administration and technical regulation, to continue work on harmonization of veterinary and phytosanitary standards, to establish a dialogue between entrepreneurs of the countries of the EAEU and Mongolia for the purpose of implementing joint projects in the agroindustrial complex and other industries.

In his turn, Vice Prime Minister of the Government of Mongolia Ulziisaikhan Enkhtuvshin stressed the fact that the further development of mutual trade and implementation of joint initiatives requires conclusion of systemic agreements between both states. Ulziisaikhan Enkhtuvshin highly appreciated the results of joint work within the framework of the signed Memorandum on Trade and Economic Cooperation, as well as the results achieved by the working group. In his opinion, business forum held in autumn 2017 with the participation of representatives of the EEC, Government of Mongolia and business sector contributed to bringing closer the positions on several issues and offered businessmen and industrialists a range of new possibilities. However, Agreement on Free Trade Zone with the EAEU Member States remains one of the priority activities conducted by the Government of Mongolia.

Mr. Sargsyan noted that heads of the EAEU Member States have identified key areas of the current international activities of the Eurasian Economic Commission. In addition, they prepared the list of countries engaged in the work aimed at conclusion of agreements on free trade zones or economic and trade cooperation. It included seven trade partners of the EAEU Member States: China, Egypt, Israel, India, Iran, Singapore, and Serbia. In this regard, Chairman of the EEC Board endorsed the initiative of the Government of Mongolia to conduct negotiations in a bilateral format with the EAEU Member States and expressed readiness to develop systematic dialogue with Mongolia in a variety of formats contributing to strengthening trade relations and creating a favorable business climate.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *