Over 50 countries willing to cooperate with Eurasian Economic Union

_ Belta. Astana, 24 August 2017.

More than 50 countries are willing to cooperate with the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU), chairman of the Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC) Tigran Sargsyan said at the Eurasian Week forum, that took place in Astana on August 24th, 2017.

“Today we use two formats of cooperation most actively. The first one is free trade agreements. The EEC Supreme Council gave us a mandate to hold negotiations with seven countries. We are in talks with Iran, Israel, India, Serbia, and Singapore. The second format is memorandums that we sign with countries wishing to interact with us. More than 50 countries have shown the willingness to work with us and expand our relations,” he said.

According to him, the second format gives an opportunity to identify the main economic interests of both sides. Joint working groups are set up to explore the potential for cooperation and benefits. “Intensive talks as part of the memorandums help us move in the right direction towards strengthening cooperation. Many of these 50 countries are showing interest in signing free trade agreements. The presidents have outlined the priority areas. The major goal for the next five years is to strengthen our integration and remove barriers,” the chairman of the EEC Board said.

The Kazakhstan capital is hosting the annual international forum and expo Eurasian Week. The forum was organized by the member states of the Eurasian Economic Union and the Eurasian Economic Commission, which comprises representatives of the government bodies and business communities from 42 countries.

Source: http://eng.belta.by/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *